Looking for help on report on Easter Rising 1916

Moderator: the_power

Looking for help on report on Easter Rising 1916

Postby Irish-American on Sun Feb 15, 2009 5:46 pm

Ladies and Gentlemen:

I am an American High School student with a bit of a problem. (As an American Civil War reenactor I learned way long ago the best way to learn details about history is t go those who have a passion to keep its memory of history alive. Which led me to your chat group.

Here is what I need:

I have to do a report on the Easter Rising of 1916. my thesis is that it was a patriotic event that helped spur the events that led to the formation of the Free State and later the Republic but 1948-9ish.
But need to present both sides strengthen my argument. I know many felt that it shattered the hope of the Home Rule act and many of those in Dublin thought it was a slap in the face because they had family in the English service. But what cannot find is any hard quotes or articles that present the negativity of the Rising. Can you suggest anything? (articles and websites would be of most help as I doubt I'd have enough time to read, cite and share the information) If you don't know, do you someone who could help me?
Thank you for your kindness!
Irish-American
Active Newbie
Full Name: I'd rather not say

Re: Looking for help on report on Easter Rising 1916

Postby bannerman on Sun Feb 15, 2009 7:36 pm

Hello Irish-American,