irelands flag

Moderator: the_power

irelands flag

Postby nathan on Sun Jan 25, 2009 5:17 pm

ok i know the tricolour is our flag but it is very modern and im sure this has been asked before but what is our oldest national flag or symbol.
i know we have a tradtion of being tribes but as an island there must have been a flag we used to distinguish ourselves with. i have had this conversation a bit lately as im studying cultural nationalism and im very curious on this
so what im asking is does anyone know what it is
for here starts war carrion birds sing, and grey wolves howl
nathan
Active Newbie
Full Name: nathan featherstone

Re: irelands flag

Postby Swifty on Sun Jan 25, 2009 5:39 pm

Best thing you can do is read Hayes-McCoy's' 'Irish Flags'.

In brief:

St Patrick's Cross (red saltire on white field) was used by Hugh O'Neill and his confederates at the battle of Kinsale in 1601/02 (depending on which reckoning you use) as a proto-national symbol which had with precedence with the Geraldines. See the Battle of Kinsale oil on canvas (poorly displayed) at Trinity College, Dublin.

The harp is first seen as an Irish symbol in a contemporary depiction of Owen Roe O'Neill's ship returning to Ireland during the Confederate Wars of the 1640's. It is later used by the United Irishmen. Originally on a blue field (see paint on James's Gate for exact shade) and, later on, the more famous green field.

There's plenty more that could be said on this subject but if you're serious about researching it get yourself in front of that book.
D Swift www.claiomh.ie c.795-1660
Swifty
Active Newbie
Full Name: Dave Swift

Postby bannerman on Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:21 pm

Couldent agree more with swifty on that one.