The Battle of the Yellow Ford - 1598

Moderator: the_power

The Battle of the Yellow Ford - 1598

Postby GavinC on Wed Jun 09, 2010 10:24 am

Good morning folks.

My name is Gavin Cullen, and I'm a Producer for Another Avenue Ltd. We are currently working on a project for the Western Regional Tourism Partnership in Northern Ireland entitled "Uncover Our Stories with Just One Click". The project involves us shooting 33 short (approximately three minutes) films which will be used to promote the western region of Northern Ireland - Fermanagh, Tyrone, Derry and The Sperrins.

The films will be released at some time in August, and will be avalable to use for any and all organisations involved in the promotion of tourism around Northern Ireland. This would include Living History societies and clubs and this particular film could be used on a website as a video piece.

One of the films we are shooting for the Tyrone section covers a brief history of the O'Neills and the Battle of the Yellow Ford. To add some veritas to the film, we'd love to feature some Living History, hence my posting here. We are looking for one or two local re-enactors or experts who would be willing to appear on film in full historic garb and chat briefly about their kit and equipment. Ideally we would love to have an Irish Warrior and an English Soldier of the time (late 16th Century).

If there are any site members who are experts on the kit of the time and in particular have accurate representations of the gear, we'd love to talk to you.

Unfortunately owing to timings and scheduling, we will be shooting the piece mid-week at Tullaghoge Fort near Cookstown around 13:30 on Thursday the 17th of June, so this would probably be more suitable for local people or those who live not too far away. And yes, I do realise that it's at short notice too . . . welcome to my world! :lol: