From damp damp Oregon

Introduce yourself here; who you are, where you are based, and any groups you are in.

Moderator: the_power

From damp damp Oregon

Postby Conn Cullach on Tue Apr 27, 2010 4:54 pm

Hello,

Just want to stop being a lurker. I'm Chris, from Portland, Oregon, and I'm a WMA student of German and Bolognese styles. Since reenactment goes in hand with WMA often, I am doing Irish (one of the few in this state, apparently), bouncing primarily between 10th-11th c. and 16th c. representations.

Since my interest is heavily into military and combat, I'm a member in the various groups who actively fight in the area (SCA, Adria, etc.) and try to use my WMA training to recreate what I think might be a good approximation of how traditional Irish weapons were used (avoiding, whenever possible, the inclusion of style elements that develop under the various rule systems). That's about it. I'm sure I'd like to meet folk who may be on this board & in my area to swap ideas, patterns, or swordblows. But I'm really interested in reading more on the boards, getting inspiration (let me know where you have more pictures!) and asking questions/getting comments about my kit as I develop it.
yrs,

Chris Cottrell, MFA
Academia Duellatoria student
aka Conn Cullach
Conn Cullach
Full Name: Chris Cottrell

Re: From damp damp Oregon

Postby Nerva on Tue Apr 27, 2010 8:46 pm

Salve Conn!

Welcome to livinghistory. I'm part of a Romano-celtic combat group. We sometimes do Hiberno-Norse and Anglo-Norman but we don't use WMA. I'm sure there are others here who will help you out. What period do you re-enact?

Vale,

Nerva.
Vale

Marcvs Vlpius Nerva

Legion Ireland - Roman Military Society of Ireland
Pilus Prior Cohors VIII Legionis XX Valeria Victrix

http://www.romanarmy.ie

info@romanarmy.ie

nerva@romanarmy.ie
Nerva
Active Newbie
Full Name: Martin McAree

Location: Corcagia, Hibernia Pronvincia - Cork, Ireland, to you Barbarians!

Postby Conn Cullach on Thu May 06, 2010 3:13 am