sword maintenance recommenations

Moderator: the_power

sword maintenance recommenations

Postby Stephen Curtin on Mon Apr 19, 2010 5:27 pm

Well lads, hope I'm posting this in the right place.
Anyway, as you can see from the attached pic,
I'm the pround owner of a spang new sword from
Rob Miller of www.castlekeep.co.uk
I was wondering If some of you lot with more
experience could recommend which products
(and where to buy them) I should use for
cleaning and maintening this beauty.
Attachments
robmillersword1.jpg
robmillersword1.jpg (28.06 KiB) Viewed 2175 times
Stephen Curtin
Active Newbie
Full Name: Stephen Curtin

Re: sword maintenance recommenations

Postby Nerva on Mon Apr 19, 2010 9:03 pm

Salve Stephen!

There are people here with vast experience so I'm sure you'll get everything you need. I'm no expert and I'd love to know some of the answers to this question myself, but based on my experience here's my two cents:

1) Don’t touch the blade or allow anybody else to either (unless you’re stabbing them with it, that’s ok :D ). Fingerprints are acidic and will stain and rust the blade. Keep a slightly oiled cloth handy for wiping the blade down with.

2) Depending on the grade of steel you can use various materials for polishing the blade. 3M make a product called Sctochbright which comes in pads of various grades. If you keep the blade clean you should never need anything more than the green pad (Finest grade I think). Keeping the blade lightly oiled when not in use is something I do. I use WD40 but I've heard some people say that this is not good as the propellant contains water. You could also use Lithium grease which comes as a spray.