Hello I Sew

Introduce yourself here; who you are, where you are based, and any groups you are in.

Moderator: the_power

Hello I Sew

Postby threaddottir on Mon Mar 29, 2010 3:36 pm

Hi, I'm a total newbie, trying to get my head around the whole living history thing. My area is clothes, I reseach, sew and cut my own patterns and have studied Archaeology at UCC in the past. Is there anybody in the Waterford area who can recommend contacts and events I could visit just to get the ball rolling.........I'll take in yer tunic for free !!!
Only the Biased can be stretched the most.
threaddottir
Full Name: Clare Horgan

Re: Hello I Sew

Postby Nerva on Mon Mar 29, 2010 4:24 pm

Salve threaddottir,

You should contact Mel Shiels "empresmel" or "Aislinn". We do 1st/2nd century Roman and are always in need of a good tunic-taker-inner :D

Vale,

Nerva.
Vale

Marcvs Vlpius Nerva

Legion Ireland - Roman Military Society of Ireland
Pilus Prior Cohors VIII Legionis XX Valeria Victrix

http://www.romanarmy.ie

info@romanarmy.ie

nerva@romanarmy.ie
Nerva
Active Newbie
Full Name: Martin McAree

Location: Corcagia, Hibernia Pronvincia - Cork, Ireland, to you Barbarians!

Postby brendan on Mon Mar 29, 2010 5:55 pm

Don't mind Nerva, its a long time since he needed a tunic taken in ;)

Is there any particular time period that interests you in terms of clothing or is it a case of all clothes are good clothes?

In terms of stitching http://www.42nd-dimension.com/NFPS/nfps_stitches.html is a good historic source...there is another link (which I can't find right now but used to be on here somewhere) to a document identfying the stitching styles appropriate to each historic time period (And more importantly the ones that are not appropriate)...if that is what you are interested in

Brendan
brendan
Active Newbie
Full Name: Brendan Griffin

Postby pajo on Wed Mar 31, 2010 10:51 pm